18
Aug
09

OK, maybe not directly a kid issue but I have to talk about Favre

5 Responses to “OK, maybe not directly a kid issue but I have to talk about Favre”


  1. August 18, 2009 at 1:37 PM

    This is a rare opportunity for you all to voice your concerns about a more general sports topic. In this case, Brett Favre has once again decided to follow up a tearful goodbye to football with lie after lie after lie. Lies to his fans, his teammates, to the NFL. Does this guy have a conscience?

    First I want to hear your thoughts in general but more importantly, let’s stay true to the spirit of this blog and let me know what message this sends to kids. Have your kids said anything about this.

    I’m still biting my tongue on this one but I’m curious what repercussions this decision of his is having now and will have moving forward.

    Look forward to your opinions.

    Coach Tony

  2. 2 The Comish
    August 18, 2009 at 1:48 PM

    Without asking my kids, my view on this is even if Farve can’t make his mind up, this is one players who plays for the love of the game and it is really not about the money(Even though he will make a pretty penny, it is about the game).This might be the only positive with this issue that we can pass on to the kids.

  3. 3 Joeybagabaseballs
    August 18, 2009 at 2:28 PM

    If Brett Favre loved the game so much it wouldn’t take him too long to decide weather or not to play. I don’t think its about the love of the game he believes he can stick it to his old team and beat them it his own personal grudge and he doesn’t really care about who’s toes he is stepping on to get what he wants. After he wore out the packers with his inability to commit to playing they “let him go” and moved on. He wanted to play on the division rival Vikings and when that didn’t happen he settled for the Jets, hes back to plan A a year later.I would explain to my kids that in the sports buss people don’t really care about a mans character. If you can put up the W and put fannies in the seats they are willing to pay you allot of money.If you don’t its goodbye and in Favre’s case good riddance.

  4. August 18, 2009 at 3:20 PM

    If Favre truly loved the game, he wouldn’t treat it with such disrespect. I mean, I love my wife and so i don’t lie to her or keep secrets from her (no wise cracks please)

    I personally think this is a guy who loves attention more than he loves the game. Idiots like Favre and Roger Clemens love the idea of parading around the league and tipping their hats to thundrous applause and then when it’s over, there’s no more applause, no celebrity on a daily basis and they simply cannot handle it.

    Jeoybagabrains nailed it. Not many folks know that Favre had a HUGE interest in playing for Minnesota last year and he did just what Joey Said. He settled for NY and lined his pockets nicely in the process and now he’s doing it again.

    Brett Favre’s retirement will be the continuously running joke in the NFL. I can’t wait to hear the discussions at the end of this season. It’s like the TV show Dallas some years back. We spend all this time trying to figure out who shot JR and when the writers ran out of good ideas, they just told us “Hey, just kidding…it was all a dream, get it? Now let’s not discuss this anymore, let’s just move forward.”

    Now that we all know who shot JR, can someone please shoot me so I don’t have to hear any more talk about this pathetic lose who wants to continue to taint what would have been a very promising legacy?

    GEEZ LOUISE!!

  5. 5 Bill Butler
    August 18, 2009 at 10:20 PM

    Can I tell you at the end of the season? Cold weather is tough for any player at his age but keep in mind they will play half the season indoors. I think that you still need to respect his arm. I think he will do well if the Viks can get a running game behind him to open up the feild. I say he will still be in the top 10 if he stays healthy. I think any young QB can learn a lot from Brett and that is priceless.


Leave a Reply

Archives


