19
Apr
10

it must be something about 10 year olds and baseball that brings out the true colors of parents and coaches

3 Responses to “it must be something about 10 year olds and baseball that brings out the true colors of parents and coaches”


  1. April 19, 2010 at 8:12 AM

    I received an email from a parent/coach of a 9-10 year old boys baseball team outlining a turn of events involving a recently played game.

    Names are changed to protect the innocent (and the not so innocent) but let me know what you think of this situation. I heard this type of scenario many times and am curious what you think you would have done.

    My name is Joe F and I am one of the assistants for Coach C on his minor league team. Tonight we had a wonderful and exciting game against Coach F’s team. I could not have been prouder of the boys on our team and the boys on Coach F’s. The pitchers both put on an amazing display of as no one scored for 5 innings. All players from both teams played such a hard and clean game and it was a tribute to these 9-10 yr olds. Both Coaches should be so proud of the way the boys played.

    Here comes the reason for my e-mail. The game entered extra innings and in the 7th inning C’s team got the first 2 men on base. The next batter up was 10yr old Matt. Again I will reiterate 10yr old Matt was the next batter. Coach F decided to intentionally walk Matt to load the bases. Matt came to first base very upset and asked if it was fair that he did not get a chance to hit. I explained to him that I thought it was 100% wrong but there was nothing I could do to change it. The next 3 batters got out without any runs scoring. In the bottom of the inning, Coach F’s team got a man on first and and 2nd with 2 out. Coming up was their best hitter Patrick (an outstanding kid and player) Do we now intentionally walk Patrick and take away his chance of winning the game? Do we do tit for tat? Do we rob a 10yr old boy of a chance to have a shining moment? Of course not. He gets to bat and gets a hit, wins the game and has a great memory of a game and baseball. Do we as adults have the right to take that opportunity away from Patrick? We have NO RIGHT at all.

    Now my question. What do I tell Matt’s parents? Should they ask to get their money back they put up to play Little League? That as a 10yr old he would not get an opportunity to get his chance to take his swings and win the game? As a 10yr old? That I should explain that he might be too good and some things are more important than a boy getting his fair due in a game of 9 and 10 yr old boys?

    What do I say to the parents of the 3 boys who followed Matt when they come to me after the game and ask me why they walked that kid to pitch to their sons? That they really wanted to let me know that they thought it was unfair to their sons to be put in that situation? Should I tell them the truth? Should I tell them why in a meaningless game the reason why they walked Matt and chose to pitch to them?

    I am curious as if anyone can give me the answers to those questions? What I should tell Matt and those 3 boys and their parents? A great game was tarnished a little that should have been a really good moment for a lot of kids and their parents. I am wondering when things became more important than just letting a bunch of 9 and 10yr old kids just play and have fun.

  2. April 19, 2010 at 8:13 AM

    I will personally hold off on my opinions on this matter until I hear from some of you. As always there are two sides, if not more.

    Best

    Coach Tony

  3. 3 eric
    April 21, 2010 at 11:10 PM

    This is a perfect example of bad coaching. Almost every example you site on this blog can be boiled down to a bad coach who just doesn’t understand that there is a difference between playing to win and winning at all costs. What is worse is that this appears to be a recreation league game. Where recreation league is a balanced team vs. a travel team. Imagine how the on deck batter felt during the intentional walk. It would be obvious to the adults that they wanted to pitch to the “easier” out. Let’s hope the kid is young enough to not realize the reason why he would be pitched to.

    Hopefully this league has a strong commissioner who will make sure this coach is removed and not allowed to coach again. He should be ashamed and embarrassed for his actions.


Leave a Reply

Archives


