22
Apr
10

part of this week’s show for 4/24. What impact good and bad do coaches have on our kids?

2 Responses to “part of this week’s show for 4/24. What impact good and bad do coaches have on our kids?”


  1. April 22, 2010 at 2:19 PM

    a few good points came in on email and the blog this week so I want to get to stories people have about coaches and the impact they’ve had either on you when you were a kid or on your kid now. I want the good, the bad and the ugly.

    • 2 John
      April 23, 2010 at 1:43 PM

      Coach Tony,

      It’s not just the skill specific coaching of a sport that is important as a coach. I’ve been coaching for a while and I’ve always tried to surround myself with coaches that I feel bring not only a good baseball background, but can help the boys in other ways. I’ve been very fortunate to have the men with me. You know as well as I do that as coaches we are amateur psychiatrists. Having caoched my sons for quite a while it’s always nice to have other coaches that can speak with them on a personal level and not just about baseball. I learned a tremendous amount from my coaches growing up and I know it has helped me in life as well as coaching teams. The lessons weren’t so much about the skills and fundamentals, but how to handle myself when certain situations happened on the ballfield and how they could be related to everyday life. I didn’t so much fully understand them when I was younger, but as I grew up I could hear the words of my coaches saying, “One day you’ll remember this and you’ll understand what I am talking about.” Very similar to what we hear from our parents.

      Good luck with the show.


Leave a Reply

Archives


