21
Oct
10

this week’s show? Cuts and the “B” Team…

 

 

2 Responses to “this week’s show? Cuts and the “B” Team…”


  1. October 21, 2010 at 10:35 AM

    With hoops season upon us, millions of kids across the country are entering gymnasiums in hopes of making the school or travel team. What does that mean? Yes, millions of young hearts will inevitably be broken.

    As coaches, we work hard to do our best but when it comes to cuts, there really is no great way to do it. Some of us just put up a list in the cafeteria and leave it for the kids to figure out on their own while others take the time to sit with each kid and tell them what they need to improve upon.

    What do you think about the cut process and what stories do you have?

    Of course the fallback to the broken hearts is to make a second team or a “B” Team. This is an entirely different can of worms and a fiarly polarizing topic. There doesn’t seem to be a lot of grey area when it comes to whether “B” Teams are good or bad for kids.

    Is this just another way to coddle our kids and shield them from disappointment?

    Let me know what you think. It’ll be on the show this Sunday.

  2. 2 Eric
    November 20, 2010 at 2:33 PM

    I am half way through listening to your replay of the “b team” show you did a few weeks ago. I’m at the part where you are reading responses to my position on B teams from parents. I can’t take it any more so I am violating the 24 hour rule and emailing while I am “hot” on the topic.

    I’m not saying my opinion is to correct one and everyone is entitled to disagree. However, I would bet heavily that the two parents who responded probably have “current” A players and are responding from the viewpoint of “weaker” players will take some of their star players court/field time. I would also assume they feel, like some of the “superstar” coaches in my town’s programs, that they can recognize at 9, 10, 11 or 12 years old, who the future stars of that sport are. Even though almost 100% of the athletes have not even begun to physically mature.

    So for all of those who grin and shake their heads when the despicable “B” word is mentioned, let me be clear on my point.

    I do not want B teams to make kids soft, to coddle them, to protect them from feeling bad, to make them feel better, to shelter them from the harsh reality of life, or to start my quest to let IBM realize they should create a B team development company. I want B teams because there are superstar athletes at 9, 10, 11 or 12 years old that are UNIDENTIFIED. They may be small or tall, fast or slow, “husky” or frail, but I have yet to see a college or professional team recruit from the intermediate or middle school. iF these “coaches” are so talented that they can determine at 9-12 who all of the future stars are then why are they not being paid by the Knicks or Mets or Rangers to scout out the middle school for them. Lord knows those teams haven’t done too well without these coaches drafting for them.

    I am not saying that all of the B players will become A players when they mature. Nor am I saying that all of the A players are over rated. I agree that many of the A players at the younger will continue to be the star athletes. But I am saying that SOME of the B players will surpass SOME of the A players once they mature. It is not just physical changes. ALL players, A and B alike, need to work hard at their skills and improving in their sport. If you only have an A program, those players will receive training that the non A players do not get. The disparity will grow as a result.

    Sports programs in my town are comprised mostly of commissioners who get this. There are a few unfortunately who see B teams like your two listeners did, a waste of time. It is about developing as many kids as you can. If I have my say on the matter we will soon have ALL of our sport commissioners “getting it”.

    I played on A teams my entire youth career. Never been cut from a travel team. I am as competitive as the next guy but you need to understand at sub High School ages, it can never be about winning at all costs. It has to be about providing opportunities to succeed.

    The caller who referenced IBM creating a B division is comparing apples to watermelons. IBM is like a professional or college team. There it IS about winning at all costs. I am talking about YOUTH sports. The problems we are discussing are largely based on the fact that there are parents and coaches that can not tell the difference.


Leave a Reply

Archives


