18
Jan
11

Trash Talking and showboating…what message does it send to the kids and where do the athletes get it from?

5 Responses to “Trash Talking and showboating…what message does it send to the kids and where do the athletes get it from?”


  1. January 18, 2011 at 5:19 PM

    This is certainly becoming a problem and we haven’t yet dealt with it on the blog or on the show. Well I think that will change this week…especially after witnessing the NY Jets and their overall moronic behavior all week long leading up to their victory over The New England Patriots.

    I think the Jets ruined this victory before it even happened and then put a nail in the coffin of good taste on the field immediately after the game.

    Antonio Cormartie did his best to illuminate for the world just how little class he has when he went into a expletive-ridden tirade about Tom Brady and then, after a terrificly-played game, the NY Jets ran around the field like a group of misbehaved children and showed even more clearly that they don’t belong where they currently find themselves…vying for the AFC Championship and a trip to the Super Bowl.

    Don’t you think that a group of adult professional athletes should have a little more presence? Shouldn’t they know how ridiculous this behavior is? Shouldn’t their coach step in and provide some guidance…um…wait…the coach is the reason this is all happening and it is a crime!

    Rex Ryan is making it known to anyone and everyone that he doesn’t care how little class the Jets show on or off the field. While this past week was a disgusting display of unprofessional behavior, it is only a small sample of how Rex Ryan and the Jets organization do such a lousy job of representing itself as a franchise and how it represents its fan base.

    I personally found it very hard to explain to my kids the behavior with the press all week and especially the schoolyard antics after the last touchdown and after the final whistle on Sunday.

    How can we continue to express a desire for sportsmanship and proper behavior when our “role models” are acting like a special education class on a field trip.

    I just don’t know…can anyone help me here?

    best

    Coach Tony

  2. 2 Kevin St. Pierre
    January 21, 2011 at 3:51 PM

    They belong exactly where they are, because they won the games they needed to win.

    Their behavior, though, stinks. I’m a lifelong Jet fan, and like Seinfeld says, I root for the laundry. If this was any other team, I would absolutely hate them.

    I’m getting so damn old and crotchety that I even considered jumping off the bandwagon, but I can’t root against my Jets.

  3. January 21, 2011 at 4:17 PM

    I remember someone I played with a long time ago summarize behavior in the following way…he said, “You dance with the date you came with.”

    I do believe that there are some guys I played with who would jump at the chance to talk about my own horrible behavior and the talking that I did.

    In fact r. Gibbons recently reminded me of a time when I taunted a pitcher from the dugout telling him he couldn’t possibly throw a fastball past me and that he better not even try. When I got up, he threw a fastball and I deposited it and as I casually jogged to first base, all I could do was to yell, “WHAT THE HELL WERE YOU THINKING THROWING ME A FASTBALL??”

    Wow, what a jerk I was…

    As for jumping off the bandwagon…of course you can…come on over to the dark side and cheer for my Steelers! It’s a little cold over here and we have plenty of rings to keep us warm 🙂

    Best

    Coach Tony

  4. 4 John
    January 22, 2011 at 6:22 PM

    How come you do not remember the stories when you taunted someone and the pitcher knocked you on your butt or drilled you in the ribs? Or the times you asked someone to challenge you with a fastball and they blew one by you? Funny how you only remember somethings…lol

  5. 5 Kevin St. Pierre
    January 23, 2011 at 12:45 PM

    I remember Tony talking quite a bit in the Stags-Chaminade games, but funny — I don’t remember him ever taking me deep.

    Of course I knew not to throw him a fastball 🙂


Leave a Reply

Archives


