20
Jul
11

potentially very disturbing but with all the complaints about childhood obesity, it this really a bad thing? Check it out and let me know what you think…

2 Responses to “potentially very disturbing but with all the complaints about childhood obesity, it this really a bad thing? Check it out and let me know what you think…”


  1. July 20, 2011 at 9:40 AM

    My wife is a reality show junkie and the other night, she flipped through the channels and came across a show called “Toddlers and Tiaras”. This is one of the most disgusting shows on TV. It outlines psychotic mothers who spray paint tans and plaster makeup on their toddler age daughters and parade them around in front of judges and audiences who judge them on their looks. I found myself wrestling my wife for the remote so I could rid myself of this garbage.

    Anyway, I found this article and I notice that there is a trend developing in the physical conditioning of our children and it got me a little puzzled. Click this link to see more…

    http://blogs.babble.com/strollerderby/2011/07/19/child-bodybuilding-dads-no-better-than-toddlers-tiaras-moms-video/

    My question is this. Are parents who allow this to take place any better than the moms I mentioned earlier? What could possibly be the motivation behind behavior like this?

    I think we’ll touch on this on the how this week but figured I’d take your temperature first.

    Best

    Coach Tony

  2. 2 Kevin St. Pierre
    July 20, 2011 at 10:06 AM

    Interesting comparison between the pageant Moms and the bodybuilding Dads (first I’m hearing of them), and I think it gets back to the validity/merits of the grown-up versions of those competitions.

    None of us have any issues with women or men who strive for scholarship, fitness, and athletic excellence… and I think it follows that we don’t have any problems with children (or their parents) who strive for the same.

    A line is crossed, though, when the focus shifts from scholarship, fitness, and excellence to sheer physical beauty. It becomes a more shallow and empty pursuit. It’s bad enough that so many adults are obsessed with physical beauty, that most sane people find it really repulsive when parents start driving their kids to be so superficial. Some of it also gets uncomfotably close to the threat of pedophilia.

    The “workout kid” seems focused on physical fitness and excellence in football. I have no problem whatsoever with that. If that morphs into being a “celebrity”, while I think it becomes a shallower pursuit — it still seems health-focused, and I’m OK with that.

    The bodybuilding, bench press kid, driven by his crazed father to bench press twice his weight… He seems like an alpha male, muscle-head waiting to happen. That’s quite different from the fitness kid, and I see no difference between that father and the pageant Moms.


Leave a Reply

Archives


