4 Responses to ““No Cut Policies”…A pretty good idea or just more “entitlement” for parents and kids?”


  1. July 13, 2010 at 10:41 AM

    OK, folks. I think this is a good one. Many schools are moving to a “no cut” policy which simply means, if you come out for a sports, you’re gonna make the team.

    I’m purposely not going to go into details because I know there are a hundred different views, qualifiers and quantifiers on this topic and I want to hear them from you.

    What are the upsides and downsides to a “no cut” policy? Who does it really benefit? What are the conditions under which it can exist most effectively?

    I have my own opinions but what do you think?

    There is a terrific blog post put up by our own Kirk Mango from Chicago and I urge you to read it as you contemplate your answers. The address is:

    http://www.chicagonow.com/blogs/athletes-sports-experience/2010/05/part-i-no-cut-polices-absolute-or-independent-practice-realistic-or-idealistic.html

    You may want to copy and paste it into your browser.

    I think we’ll use this as a topic of discussion for this week’s show.

    Coach Tony


Leave a comment


Archives